Aaron Ross Powell
ReImagining Liberty
Liberalism, Buddhism, and the Politics of Impermanence
0:00
-47:11

Liberalism, Buddhism, and the Politics of Impermanence

A conversation about how Buddhist philosophy and political liberalism are mutually reinforcing.
Transcript

No transcript...

Early access release: 12/9. Public release: 12/16. Become a supporter and get early access to all new episodes.

I am a liberal. I’m also a Buddhist. In a recent essay at The UnPopulist, I wrote about the intersection of the two, which I see as more than compatible, and in fact mutually reinforcing. Buddhist ethics gives us not just the best way to live happy and harmless lives, but also a strong foundation for a genuinely liberal society.

While Buddhist philosophy informs much of the perspective I bring to conversations at ReImagining Liberty, I haven’t yet done an episode specifically on it, and on how it relates to the kind of liberalism this show is all about. Today I’m correcting that gap.

And rather than just monolog at you, I’m delighted to have my friend, and frequent ReImagining Liberty guest, Cory Massimino step in as host to interview me. Cory is a philosophy student and a fellow at the Center for a Stateless Society, and, through many conversations over the years, he’s played a significant role in shaping my intellectual perspective.

ReImagining Liberty is an independent show. If you enjoy it, consider becoming a supporter. You’ll be able to listen to episodes early and get all my essays a week before they’re released to everyone else.

Podcast art by Sergio R. M. Duarte. Music by Kevin MacLeod.

0 Comments
Aaron Ross Powell
ReImagining Liberty
A show about the emancipatory and cosmopolitan case for radical social, political, and economic freedom. Hosted by Aaron Ross Powell.